Leadership of the New Baptist Covenant


New Baptist Covenant Convener

In 2007, lifelong Baptist, President Jimmy Carter convened the leaders of more than 30 Baptist organizations to create the New Baptist Covenant to heal the longstanding racial and theological divisions he saw in his beloved Baptist community.

President Carter, who still teaches Sunday School at Maranatha Baptist Church in Plains, Georgia, has dedicated his life to championing the expansion of human rights while reconciling historic racial, economic and social divisions both in the United States and around the world. In recognition of his work through the Carter Center “to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development,” President Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002.

While in the White House, President Carter mediated the historic Camp David Accords, securing peace between Egypt and Israel in 1978. He also oversaw the restoration of a full diplomatic relationship between the United States and China.

Since leaving office, President Carter has remained instrumental in United States diplomatic efforts around the world. He’s is often considered the most successful former president in history because of his work for peace and his humanitarian efforts.

President Carter and his wife continue to lead a mission trip through Habitat for Humanity, becoming one of the relief organizations’ biggest champions. Since 1984, the Carters have led more than 30 trips around the world.

Dr. Aidsand Wright-Riggins

Executive Director

Lindsay Bergstrom

Director of Operations

Laura Alden, Board Member, Publisher, Judson Press, Valley Forge, PA

Minister Danielle Ayers, Board Member, Minister of Justice, Friendship-West Baptist Church, Dallas, TX

Patricia Ayres, Board Member, First Baptist Church, Austin, TX

Dr. Paul Baxley, Board Member, Executive Coordinator, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship

Rev. Scott Dickison, Board Member, Senior Pastor, First Baptist Church, Macon, GA

Rev. Judy Fackenthal, Board Member, Senior Pastor, Garfield Park Baptist Church, Indianapolis, IN, and Past President, American Baptist Churches, USA

Dr. Sumner Grant, Board Member, Executive Director Emeritus, Ministers and Missionaries Benefits Board

Dr. Arlee Griffin Jr., Board Member, Senior Pastor, Berean Baptist Church, Brooklyn, NY

Dr. A Wayne Johnson, Board Member, General Secretary, Progressive National Baptist Convention

Dr. George Mason, Board Member, Senior Pastor, Wilshire Baptist Church, Dallas, TX

Dr. Tyrone Pitts, Chair, General Secretary Emeritus, Progressive National Baptist Convention

Quinton RomanNose, Board Member, Watonga Indian Baptist Church, Watonga, OK

Rev. Arlene Tyler, Board Member, Detroit, MI

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!